SleepLean Review: Ingredients, Evidence, Price & Safety (2026)

Prices and bundle options change often, and the seller’s own page is the only place we can confirm what is actually on offer today.

Check the current SleepLean price →

Official site · affiliate link — we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. It does not change our verdict.

Our verdict in one paragraph

SleepLean is sold as a sleep-and-weight formula, but read the ingredient list the seller actually publishes and three things stand out. It contains no melatonin. Half of it — berberine, lutein, spirulina, inulin — has nothing to do with sleep. And it contains black cohosh, a menopause herb with documented reports of liver injury, in a product marketed to men. On top of that, no dose is published for any of the eight ingredients, and no company name or returns address appears anywhere on the sales page. Our take: Weak — leaning avoid. The 90-day guarantee is the best thing about it, and you should be ready to use it.

What SleepLean Is (and What It Claims)

SleepLean is a direct-to-consumer capsule sold through the seller’s own funnel, taken with water about thirty minutes before bed. The pitch is the familiar one for this category: that your metabolism does its repair work overnight, that poor sleep sabotages it, and that fixing the sleep will let the fat come off while you rest.

The eight ingredients named by the seller on 4 September 2026 are valerian root, hops, 5-HTP, berberine, spirulina blue, black cohosh, lutein and inulin.

That list is worth reading twice, because it is not the list you would predict from the name. There is no melatonin — the single best-evidenced sleep ingredient, and the one nearly every competitor includes. Only three of the eight (valerian, hops, 5-HTP) have any sleep rationale at all. Berberine is a daytime blood-sugar compound. Lutein is an eye-health carotenoid. Spirulina is an algae. Inulin is a dietary fibre. And black cohosh is a herb used almost exclusively for menopausal hot flushes — an odd and, as we explain below, an actively concerning inclusion.

As with most products in this category, no dose is published for any ingredient, no serving size is given, and no capsule count per bottle is stated.

Key Facts

CategoryMarketed as bedtime sleep + overnight weight support
FormatCapsules, taken ~30 minutes before bed — serving size and capsules per bottle not published
Ingredients named by sellerValerian root, hops, 5-HTP, berberine, spirulina blue, black cohosh, lutein, inulin
MelatoninNone — despite being sold as a sleep product
Dose transparencyNone — no Supplement Facts panel published on the sales page
Main safety flagsBlack cohosh (liver injury reports), 5-HTP (antidepressant interaction), berberine (broad drug interactions)
Company / returns addressNot stated — only “FDA-registered, GMP-certified US facility”
Guarantee90 days, no questions asked; empty bottles accepted per the seller
Price (confirm at checkout)$79/bottle (2, $158) · $59/bottle (3, $177) · $39/bottle (6, $234) — as listed 4 Sep 2026
Our takeWeak — leaning avoid — a qualitative editorial opinion (not a lab test, and not a numeric score)

⚠ Conflicting Ingredient Lists Circulate Under This Name

Several third-party review pages — including an earlier version of this one — describe SleepLean as containing melatonin 3 mg, L-theanine 200 mg, white kidney bean extract 500 mg, KSM-66 ashwagandha 300 mg, magnesium glycinate and green tea extract, with a 60-day guarantee.

None of that matches the seller. On 4 September 2026 the seller’s own page lists valerian root, hops, 5-HTP, berberine, spirulina blue, black cohosh, lutein and inulin, with no doses at all, and advertises a 90-day guarantee. Those confident dose tables appear to have been written rather than verified.

We have corrected this page to match what the seller actually publishes. The practical instruction for you is the same either way: read the Supplement Facts panel on the bottle that arrives. If it does not match what you were sold, contact support and use the refund window immediately.

Ingredient Evidence Audit

For each named ingredient: what human research shows for sleep or weight, the dose that research used, and how it fares here — where “here” means an undisclosed amount in a bedtime capsule.

Ingredient (dose in SleepLean)What the human evidence showsVerdict
Valerian root (undisclosed)The most plausible sleep ingredient in the formula. Trials used 300–600 mg of root extract before bed. Results are mixed — meta-analyses find a modest improvement in subjective sleep quality but little consistent change in objective measures, and study quality is generally poor. Well tolerated; occasional morning drowsiness.Plausible, unknown dose
Hops (undisclosed)Almost always studied combined with valerian, at around 60–120 mg of extract. Small trials suggest the pair may shorten sleep onset slightly more than valerian alone. Weak evidence but a sensible pairing.Sensible pairing, unknown dose
5-HTP (undisclosed)A serotonin precursor studied at 100–300 mg for sleep onset, on thin and mostly older evidence. The safety point matters more: combined with SSRIs, SNRIs, MAOIs, triptans, tramadol or St John’s wort it carries a risk of serotonin syndrome. Nausea is common at higher doses.Interaction risk, unknown dose
Berberine (undisclosed)Genuinely active — it lowers fasting glucose and HbA1c in randomized trials, at 500 mg three times daily (1,500 mg/day), taken with meals. It has no sleep role whatsoever, and a single bedtime capsule cannot hold a studied dose alongside seven other ingredients. It also inhibits CYP3A4 and P-glycoprotein, so it interacts with a long list of medicines including statins, ciclosporin and metformin.Right compound, wrong dose, wrong time of day
Black cohosh (undisclosed)A menopause herb studied for hot flushes, with inconsistent results. It has documented case reports of hepatotoxicity serious enough that regulators in the UK, Australia and the EU require liver-warning labelling. No sleep evidence, no weight evidence, and no reason to be in a men’s product. See the section below.Safety concern with no rationale
Spirulina blue (undisclosed)Phycocyanin, the blue pigment from spirulina. Antioxidant activity in laboratory work; essentially no controlled human evidence for sleep, appetite or body composition. Contamination with microcystins is a known quality issue with poorly sourced algae.No relevant human evidence
Lutein (undisclosed)A carotenoid with real evidence — for eye health, at 10–20 mg/day, in age-related macular degeneration. The seller’s claim that it “supports cellular repair overnight” is not something the research supports. Harmless, but irrelevant here.Wrong ingredient for the claim
Inulin (undisclosed)A real prebiotic fibre with genuine modest effects on satiety and gut bacteria — at 10–16 grams a day. That is 10,000–16,000 mg. A bedtime capsule physically cannot contain a fraction of it. At capsule-scale amounts inulin does nothing except, in sensitive people, cause bloating.Studied dose is ~100× what a capsule holds
Missing: melatoninThe best-evidenced sleep ingredient, shown across meta-analyses to shorten time to sleep onset. Cheap, well tolerated, and absent from this “sleep” formula.Absent

Summarised bluntly: two ingredients (valerian, hops) plausibly help sleep at unknown doses; one (5-HTP) may help but carries a drug interaction; three (berberine, inulin, lutein) are real compounds at doses a capsule cannot deliver or for outcomes nobody is buying this for; one (spirulina) has no relevant evidence; and one (black cohosh) is a liver-safety concern with no rationale for being here at all. No study has tested the finished product.

⚠ The Black Cohosh Problem

Black cohosh (Actaea racemosa) is the ingredient that moves this review from “probably ineffective” to “we would not take it.”

It is a herb used for menopausal hot flushes. It has no sleep evidence, no weight-loss evidence, and no established role in men’s health at all. More to the point, it has an established safety signal: the NIH’s LiverTox database records case reports of clinically apparent liver injury following black cohosh use, some severe. The evidence is not strong enough to call it common — most cases involve confounding — but it was strong enough that regulators in the United Kingdom, Australia and the European Union require products containing it to carry a liver warning.

In a bedtime supplement taken every night for months, at a dose the seller does not disclose, that is a risk with no corresponding benefit. If you take it and develop unexplained fatigue, nausea, dark urine, abdominal pain or yellowing of the eyes or skin, stop and see a doctor.

Does the Sleep–Weight Idea Hold Up?

The premise is better than the product.

What is well established: sleep restriction measurably raises ghrelin (hunger), lowers leptin (satiety), increases cravings for calorie-dense food and worsens insulin sensitivity within days. People who habitually sleep five hours or fewer gain more weight over time than people who sleep seven or eight. Sleeping badly genuinely makes weight control harder.

What is not established: that improving already-adequate sleep with a supplement causes fat loss. That step has not been demonstrated. The mechanism runs strongly from severe deprivation to weight gain; it does not run neatly backwards.

And “overnight fat burning” is marketing, not physiology. You do oxidise fat while asleep — you also do while sitting at a desk. Total daily energy balance determines body weight; nothing about the hours between midnight and six is metabolically special in the way these sales pages imply.

The honest version: if you are sleeping five hours a night, fixing that will help your weight — mostly through reduced late-night eating and better capacity to train. That is worth pursuing seriously. A capsule containing eight ingredients at unknown amounts, none of which is melatonin, is not how you pursue it.

⚠ What is NOT known (read before buying)

• Every dose, plus the serving size and capsules per bottle. Nothing can be evaluated without these.
• The black cohosh amount — the ingredient with the clearest safety signal is the one you most need a number for.
• Whether valerian is a standardized extract or plain root powder, which changes the useful dose several-fold.
• The spirulina source and whether it is tested for microcystin contamination.
• Who makes and sells it. No company name, no physical address, no named contact — only a generic “FDA-registered facility” line, which describes a registration, not an approval or an inspection of this product.
• No certificate of analysis, no named third-party tester, no trial on the finished product.

Who Should Avoid It

  • Anyone with liver disease, a history of liver problems, or who drinks heavily — black cohosh carries documented hepatotoxicity reports and its dose here is unknown.
  • Anyone taking an antidepressant or other serotonergic medication — SSRIs, SNRIs, MAOIs, triptans, tramadol, St John’s wort. The 5-HTP creates a serotonin syndrome risk.
  • Anyone on prescription medication generally — berberine inhibits CYP3A4 and P-glycoprotein, which affects statins, ciclosporin, some blood thinners and many others. Ask a pharmacist before adding it to anything.
  • Anyone taking metformin or insulin — berberine lowers blood glucose and can stack with them.
  • Anyone with suspected sleep apnoea — snoring, witnessed breathing pauses, morning headaches, heavy daytime sleepiness. That needs diagnosis, not sedation.
  • Anyone with a hormone-sensitive condition — black cohosh has been treated as potentially oestrogenic and is generally avoided in these cases.
  • Pregnant or breastfeeding women, and anyone under 18.

This is not medical advice. Chronic insomnia has treatable causes, and the treatment with the strongest long-term evidence is CBT-I — cognitive behavioural therapy for insomnia — which outperforms sleeping pills at twelve months and is recommended as first-line care. If you have slept badly for more than a month, that is worth a doctor’s appointment before it is worth $158.

Price, Guarantee & Where to Buy

SleepLean is sold only through the seller’s own funnel; we could not verify authorized retail availability. Prices below are as listed on 4 September 2026 — confirm the current price, shipping and guarantee on the checkout page you actually use:

Cost per day: about $2.63 on the 2-pack, $1.97 on the 3-pack and $1.30 on the 6-pack. Note that there is no single-bottle option — the smallest purchase is $158, which is a lot to commit before you have seen what is on the label.

The guarantee is the strongest part of the offer. The seller advertises 90 days, no questions asked, covering empty bottles — longer than the 60 days most of this category offers, and longer than an earlier version of this page stated. You contact support for a return authorization, ship the bottles back at your own cost, and the refund follows receipt. Given everything above, we would treat that window as the main reason it is safe to try at all — and we would open the bottle, photograph the Supplement Facts panel and decide on day one, not day eighty-nine.

See the seller’s current price & return terms

Confirm the current price, shipping, the 90-day guarantee and — most importantly — whether a Supplement Facts panel with doses is shown before you order (checked 4 Sep 2026).

View the seller’s current offer →

Honest Alternatives

  • CBT-I. First-line care in clinical guidelines for chronic insomnia, and it beats sleeping pills at twelve months. App-based programmes are cheap or free; your doctor can point you to one.
  • Rule out sleep apnoea. If you snore heavily or wake unrefreshed, get tested. Untreated apnoea drives both weight gain and cardiovascular risk, and no supplement touches it.
  • If you want a supplement, buy single ingredients at known doses. Melatonin 0.5–1 mg, L-theanine 200 mg, magnesium glycinate 200–300 mg elemental and a standardized valerian at 300–600 mg are all sold individually with the amount printed on the label, for roughly $0.40–$0.70 a day. You can add one at a time and find out what actually works for you.
  • If berberine is what interested you, take it properly — 500 mg with meals, in daylight, after checking your medication list with a pharmacist. It does not belong in a bedtime capsule.
  • The basics that beat most supplements: a fixed wake time, no alcohol within three hours of bed, no caffeine after mid-afternoon, a cool dark room, morning daylight.
  • Compare within the category: see our Renew review, which has the same undisclosed-dose problem, and our sleep guide for men over 40.

Pros, Cons & Verdict

What we liked

  • 90-day guarantee covering empty bottles — longer than most of the category
  • Valerian and hops are a legitimate, if modest, sleep pairing
  • Berberine and inulin are real compounds with real research behind them, in other contexts
  • No stimulants and no proprietary-blend-only marketing gimmicks

What gives us pause

  • Black cohosh — liver-injury reports, regulator warnings, no rationale in a men’s sleep product
  • No doses published for any of the eight ingredients; no serving size, no capsule count
  • No melatonin in a product sold on sleep
  • Berberine and inulin are at doses a bedtime capsule cannot physically deliver
  • Lutein and spirulina have no evidence for sleep, appetite or body composition
  • 5-HTP interaction with antidepressants at an unknown dose
  • No company name or returns address anywhere on the sales page
  • No single-bottle option — minimum commitment is $158

Editorial verdict — weak, leaning avoid: most supplements in this category are simply under-dosed. SleepLean has a different problem: its ingredient list does not describe the product it is being sold as. There is no melatonin in the sleep formula, the two metabolic ingredients are at doses a capsule cannot hold, two more have no relevant evidence at all, and one is a menopause herb carrying a liver-safety signal that European, British and Australian regulators require to be labelled. None of the amounts are disclosed, and nobody puts their name to it. The 90-day guarantee is genuinely good, and if you have already bought it, that window is your friend — read the panel on the bottle today. But we would not spend $158 to find out what is inside.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does SleepLean actually work for sleep and weight loss?
No study has tested the finished product, and no doses are published, so it cannot be properly evaluated. On what the seller does publish: only valerian and hops have a plausible sleep rationale, there is no melatonin at all, and the two metabolic ingredients — berberine and inulin — are studied at 1,500 mg and 10,000–16,000 mg per day respectively, far more than a bedtime capsule can contain.
What is actually in SleepLean?
As listed by the seller on 4 September 2026: valerian root, hops, 5-HTP, berberine, spirulina blue, black cohosh, lutein and inulin. No doses, serving size or capsule count are published. Ingredient lists on some third-party pages naming melatonin, L-theanine, white kidney bean and KSM-66 ashwagandha do not match the seller and could not be verified.
Why is black cohosh a concern?
Black cohosh is a menopause herb with no sleep or weight evidence and documented case reports of liver injury — enough that the UK, Australia and the EU require liver-warning labelling on products containing it. In a nightly supplement for men, at a dose the seller does not disclose, it is a risk with no matching benefit. Stop and see a doctor if you develop unexplained fatigue, nausea, dark urine, abdominal pain or yellowing of the skin or eyes.
Does SleepLean contain melatonin?
No. Despite being marketed as a sleep formula, melatonin does not appear on the seller’s ingredient list — which is notable, since melatonin is the cheapest and best-evidenced sleep ingredient available and is standard in competing products.
Is SleepLean safe with my medications?
Check with a pharmacist before taking it. It contains 5-HTP, which risks serotonin syndrome with SSRIs, SNRIs, MAOIs, triptans, tramadol and St John’s wort; berberine, which inhibits CYP3A4 and P-glycoprotein and therefore interacts with statins, ciclosporin and many other drugs, and can lower blood sugar alongside metformin or insulin; and black cohosh, which carries liver-safety warnings.
How much does SleepLean cost and what is the guarantee?
As listed on 4 September 2026: $158 for two bottles ($79 each), $177 for three ($59 each) and $234 for six ($39 each), with free US shipping on the larger bundles. There is no single-bottle option. The seller advertises a 90-day, no-questions-asked money-back guarantee that covers empty bottles; you pay return postage.
Sources & references (ingredient-level)

Valerian for sleep quality — systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized trials. PubMed 17145239

Black cohosh and hepatotoxicity — NIH LiverTox monograph. LiverTox: Black Cohosh

Black cohosh — NIH Office of Dietary Supplements fact sheet, including liver-warning labelling requirements. ods.od.nih.gov

Berberine for glycaemic control — meta-analysis of randomized trials, 500 mg three times daily. PubMed 25498346

Berberine inhibition of CYP3A4 and P-glycoprotein — drug-interaction review. PubMed 28861734

Inulin-type fructans, satiety and appetite — randomized trials at 10–16 g/day. PubMed 19776140

Lutein and eye health (AREDS2) — the evidenced use of lutein. PubMed 23644932

5-HTP and serotonin syndrome risk — NIH National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health. nccih.nih.gov

Sleep restriction, leptin, ghrelin and appetite — Spiegel et al. (Ann Intern Med, 2004). PubMed 15583226

CBT-I as first-line treatment for chronic insomnia — American College of Physicians clinical guideline. PubMed 27136449

Seller’s published ingredient list, pricing and guarantee wording — accessed 4 September 2026.

Update log: 4 Sep 2026 — full evidence-led rebuild replacing an earlier version. The previous ingredient list (melatonin, L-theanine, white kidney bean, KSM-66) did not match the seller and has been replaced with the eight ingredients the seller actually publishes; the guarantee has been corrected from 60 to 90 days and pricing re-verified. Black cohosh liver-safety finding, berberine and inulin dose analysis, and the missing-melatonin finding added. Next scheduled re-check: 4 December 2026, or sooner on any formula or price change.
Affiliate disclosure: Men’s Health Authority may earn a commission when readers buy through links on this page, at no additional cost to the reader; this does not influence our assessment. Medical disclaimer: this review is for general education only and is not medical advice. SleepLean is a dietary supplement, not a treatment for insomnia, obesity or any disease. Persistent insomnia and suspected sleep apnoea require medical assessment. Do not combine 5-HTP-containing products with antidepressants or other serotonergic medication without medical advice, and seek medical attention for any sign of liver problems. Statements have not been evaluated by the FDA; this product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease.

Prices and bundle options change often, and the seller’s own page is the only place we can confirm what is actually on offer today.

Check the current SleepLean price →

Official site · affiliate link — we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. It does not change our verdict.

3 thoughts on “SleepLean Review: Ingredients, Evidence, Price & Safety (2026)”

Comments are closed.