Prices and bundle options change often, and the seller’s own page is the only place we can confirm what is actually on offer today.
Check the current Renew price →
Official site · affiliate link — we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. It does not change our verdict.
Our verdict in one paragraph
IN THIS REVIEW
What Renew Is (and What It Claims)

Renew is sold as a capsule taken before bed, marketed for deep sleep and overnight metabolism.
Renew is a direct-to-consumer supplement sold through a network of look-alike sales pages, with checkout processed by ClickBank. It is taken as capsules before bed, and it is marketed on a two-part promise: that it will deepen your sleep, and that deeper sleep will in turn restore a metabolism that has “slowed down” with age. The sales copy talks about repair and regeneration happening overnight, and about growth hormone released during deep sleep.
The eight ingredients named by the seller are Withania somnifera (ashwagandha), Griffonia simplicifolia (5-HTP), L-theanine, melatonin, zinc, magnesium, L-arginine and L-lysine.
That is a coherent-looking list. Four of those ingredients (melatonin, L-theanine, ashwagandha, magnesium) genuinely have human sleep research behind them, and the arginine/lysine pair is there to support the growth-hormone story. So the shape of the formula is not unreasonable.
What is unreasonable is that the seller never tells you how much of anything is in the capsule.
Key Facts
| Category | Bedtime sleep support marketed for overnight metabolism / weight |
| Format | Capsules taken before bed — serving size and capsules per bottle not published |
| Headline claim | Deeper sleep → restored overnight metabolism → easier weight loss |
| Ingredients named | Ashwagandha, 5-HTP, L-theanine, melatonin, zinc, magnesium, L-arginine, L-lysine |
| Dose transparency | None — no Supplement Facts panel published on the sales pages we checked |
| Company / returns address | Not stated on the sales page — only “FDA-registered, GMP-certified US facility” |
| Main safety flag | 5-HTP interacts with SSRIs, SNRIs, MAOIs, triptans and tramadol |
| Guarantee | 60 days, no questions asked; empty bottles accepted per the seller |
| Price (confirm at checkout) | $79 (1 bottle) · $59/bottle (3, $177) · $49/bottle (6, $294, free US shipping) — as listed 4 Sep 2026 |
| Our take | Mixed — undisclosed doses — a qualitative editorial opinion (not a lab test, and not a numeric score) |
⚠ The Missing Doses Are the Whole Review
On 4 September 2026 we checked the seller’s pages and could not find a Supplement Facts panel, a serving size, a capsule count per bottle, or a single milligram figure for any of the eight ingredients. The pages name ingredients and describe what each is “traditionally used” for. That is all.
This matters more than it might sound. Melatonin at 0.5 mg and melatonin at 10 mg are different products with different side-effect profiles. Ashwagandha below about 300 mg of a standardized extract has little supporting evidence; at 600 mg it has quite a lot. L-theanine does nothing measurable below roughly 100 mg. Magnesium at 50 mg is a rounding error; at 300 mg it is a real dose. A list of eight good ingredients at unknown amounts tells you nothing about whether the product works.
Note also that some third-party review sites publish confident-looking dose tables for Renew — “melatonin 5 mg, KSM-66 300 mg” and so on. We could not verify any of those figures against the seller. Treat them as invented until you see the panel on a bottle.
If you order, photograph the Supplement Facts panel the day the bottle arrives and compare it against the sections below, while the 60-day refund window is still wide open.
Ingredient Evidence Audit
For each named ingredient: what human research actually shows for sleep or weight, the dose that research used, and what we can say about Renew — which, given the above, is mostly “we cannot tell.”
| Ingredient (dose in Renew) | What the human evidence shows | Verdict |
|---|---|---|
| Melatonin (undisclosed) | The best-evidenced ingredient here. Meta-analyses show it shortens the time to fall asleep by roughly 7–12 minutes and modestly improves sleep quality. It is a circadian signal, not a sedative, and more is not better — 0.5–1 mg performs about as well as 5–10 mg, while higher doses raise the risk of morning grogginess and vivid dreams. Without a stated dose you cannot know which you are getting. | Good ingredient, unknown dose |
| L-theanine (undisclosed) | An amino acid from tea. Studied at 200 mg for relaxation and sleep quality, with small but consistent effects on subjective sleep and stress. Very well tolerated. Below about 100 mg the trials do not support it. | Good ingredient, unknown dose |
| Ashwagandha (undisclosed) | Standardized root extract at 300–600 mg/day has reduced self-reported stress and improved sleep-quality scores in several randomized trials, including in people with insomnia. Rare but documented reports of liver injury exist, and it is not recommended in thyroid disease or pregnancy. | Good ingredient, unknown dose |
| Magnesium (undisclosed, form not stated) | Helpful mainly for people who are actually deficient. Trials in older adults with insomnia used 320–500 mg/day of elemental magnesium. Form matters a great deal: glycinate and citrate absorb well, oxide poorly and loosens the bowels. Neither the amount nor the form is published here. | Dose and form both unknown |
| 5-HTP (undisclosed) | A serotonin precursor. Small trials at 100–300 mg suggest some effect on sleep onset, but the evidence is thin and older. The important point is safety, not efficacy: combining 5-HTP with SSRIs, SNRIs, MAOIs, triptans, tramadol or St John’s wort risks serotonin syndrome, which can be serious. It can also cause nausea at higher doses. | Interaction risk at an unknown dose |
| Zinc (undisclosed) | Necessary for health; some observational links to sleep quality. Supplementing beyond need does not improve sleep, and chronic intake above 40 mg/day causes copper deficiency. An undisclosed zinc dose in a daily product is a genuine, if small, safety gap. | Only useful if deficient |
| L-arginine + L-lysine (undisclosed) | These carry the “growth hormone while you sleep” story. Oral arginine can raise growth hormone acutely, but the studies that show it used 5–9 grams — amounts that will not fit in a bedtime capsule alongside seven other ingredients, and that commonly cause diarrhoea. More importantly, a transient GH bump has never been shown to produce fat loss in adults. | Dose almost certainly far below the studies |
| Missing: any weight-loss ingredient | Nothing in this formula acts on appetite, fat oxidation or energy expenditure directly. The entire weight claim runs through sleep. | Indirect claim only |
No study has tested the finished Renew product. What the audit shows is a formula whose best ingredients are all dose-dependent, sold without doses, and whose weight-loss mechanism rests on an arginine dose that a capsule cannot physically hold.
Does the Sleep–Weight Idea Hold Up?
Partly, and it is worth separating the good science from the sales pitch.
What is well established: short sleep is associated with weight gain, and experimental sleep restriction raises ghrelin (the hunger hormone), lowers leptin (the satiety hormone), increases appetite for calorie-dense food, and worsens insulin sensitivity within days. Sleeping four hours a night makes it measurably harder to control your weight. That is real, and it is a good reason to take sleep seriously.
What is not established: that taking a supplement to sleep somewhat better causes weight loss. The intervention studies that improved sleep in people who were already sleeping adequately have not produced meaningful fat loss. The link runs strongly from severe sleep deprivation to weight gain; it does not run neatly backwards from “slightly better sleep” to “pounds lost.”
And the growth-hormone framing is the weakest part. Yes, most daily growth hormone is released in deep sleep. But adults with normal GH do not lose fat by nudging it upward, and no supplement has been shown to change body composition through this route. If it were that simple, GH would be a weight-loss drug — it is not, and it is not prescribed as one.
The honest version of the claim: fixing genuinely bad sleep will probably make weight control easier, mostly by reducing late-night eating and improving your capacity to exercise. That is worth doing. It is not the same as a bottle causing fat loss overnight, and no supplement has been shown to do the latter.
⚠ What is NOT known (read before buying)
• Every dose. All eight, plus the serving size and the capsules per bottle. This is the main reason for our caution.
• The melatonin amount — which determines whether you wake up clear-headed or groggy.
• The magnesium form — glycinate and oxide behave completely differently.
• Whether the ashwagandha is a standardized extract (KSM-66, Sensoril) or plain root powder, which changes the required dose several-fold.
• Who makes and sells it. No company name or returns address appears on the sales page — only a generic “FDA-registered facility” line, which is a registration, not an approval or an inspection of this product.
• No certificate of analysis, no named third-party tester, and no trial on the finished product.
Who Should Avoid It
- Anyone taking an antidepressant or any serotonergic medication — SSRIs, SNRIs, MAOIs, triptans for migraine, tramadol, or St John’s wort. The 5-HTP here creates a serotonin syndrome risk, and because the dose is undisclosed you cannot even judge how large. This is the single strongest reason to avoid this product.
- Anyone with suspected sleep apnoea — loud snoring, witnessed pauses in breathing, morning headaches, heavy daytime sleepiness. Apnoea needs diagnosis and treatment; sedating yourself through it is the wrong move and can be dangerous.
- Anyone on blood-thinning, thyroid, diabetes or blood-pressure medication — ashwagandha affects thyroid hormones and blood sugar; magnesium and arginine can lower blood pressure.
- Anyone with liver disease — ashwagandha has documented, if rare, reports of liver injury.
- Anyone who drives or operates machinery early — an unknown melatonin dose plus 5-HTP can leave real morning grogginess.
- Pregnant or breastfeeding women, anyone under 18, and anyone with an autoimmune or thyroid condition (ashwagandha).
This is not medical advice. Persistent insomnia has treatable causes, and the treatment with the best long-term evidence is not a supplement at all — it is CBT-I (cognitive behavioural therapy for insomnia), which outperforms sleeping pills at twelve months and is recommended as first-line care. If you have been sleeping badly for more than a month, ask your doctor about it before buying anything.
Price, Guarantee & Where to Buy
Renew is sold only through the seller’s own funnels — and there are many near-identical domains using the name, which is itself worth noting. We could not verify authorized retail availability anywhere. Prices below are as listed on 4 September 2026; confirm the current price, shipping and guarantee on the checkout page you actually use:
Cost per day: about $2.63 on a single bottle, $1.97 on the 3-pack and $1.63 on the 6-pack. For comparison: melatonin, L-theanine, magnesium glycinate and a standardized ashwagandha extract bought separately as four single-ingredient products — all at doses printed on the label — typically come to $0.40–$0.70 a day. You would know exactly what you were taking, and you could drop any one of them if it did not suit you.
The guarantee, read carefully. The seller advertises a 60-day, no-questions-asked money-back guarantee covering empty bottles. In practice that means contacting support for a return authorization, shipping the bottles back at your own cost, and waiting for the refund after receipt. Sixty days is on the short side for this category. Given that the doses are undisclosed until the bottle is in your hand, the sensible approach is to open it, read the panel, and decide on day one rather than day fifty-nine.
See the seller’s current price & return terms
Confirm the current price, shipping, 60-day guarantee and — most importantly — whether a Supplement Facts panel with doses is shown before you order (checked 4 Sep 2026; terms vary between Renew domains).
View the seller’s current offer →Honest Alternatives
If better sleep is the goal, here is what the evidence supports, roughly in order of effect size:
- CBT-I. Cognitive behavioural therapy for insomnia is first-line care in clinical guidelines and beats sleeping pills at twelve months. Free and low-cost app-based programmes exist, and your doctor can point you to one.
- Rule out sleep apnoea. If you snore heavily, wake unrefreshed, or your partner has noticed you stop breathing, get tested. No supplement touches this, and untreated apnoea drives both weight gain and cardiovascular risk.
- Buy the ingredients separately, at known doses. Melatonin 0.5–1 mg, L-theanine 200 mg, magnesium glycinate 200–300 mg elemental and a standardized ashwagandha at 300–600 mg are all available as single-ingredient products with the amount printed on the label, for a fraction of the price. You can add one at a time and find out what actually helps you.
- The unglamorous basics: a consistent wake time, no alcohol within three hours of bed, no caffeine after mid-afternoon, a cool dark room, and morning daylight. These outperform most supplements and cost nothing.
- Compare within the category: see our SleepLean review, which has the same undisclosed-dose problem, and our sleep guide for men over 40.
Pros, Cons & Verdict
What we liked
- The ingredient selection is sensible — four of the eight have real sleep evidence
- The sleep-affects-weight premise is genuinely supported, unlike most category claims
- 60-day guarantee that accepts empty bottles
- Nothing exotic, proprietary or obviously risky for healthy adults not on medication
What gives us pause
- No doses published for any of the eight ingredients — the formula cannot be evaluated
- No serving size, no capsule count, no Supplement Facts panel on the sales page
- No company name or returns address; sold across many look-alike domains
- 5-HTP at an unknown dose carries a real interaction with antidepressants
- The growth-hormone weight-loss mechanism is not supported in adults
- Roughly four times the cost of the same ingredients bought individually at known doses
- No trial on the finished product, no certificate of analysis
Editorial verdict — mixed, undisclosed doses: Renew is not an absurd product. Its premise is sounder than most of this category, and its ingredient list would look respectable on a label. But it has no label — and a supplement whose active amounts are secret is asking you to pay $79 for a list of words. Four of these ingredients are cheap, well-studied and available separately with the milligrams printed on the bottle; buying them that way costs less and tells you what you are taking. If you order Renew anyway, read the panel the day it arrives and use the 60-day window if it does not satisfy you. And if your sleep has been bad for more than a month, that is a conversation for a doctor, not a checkout page.
Frequently Asked Questions
Melatonin for primary sleep disorders — meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials (PLoS One, 2013). PubMed 23691095
Ashwagandha root extract and sleep quality — systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized trials. PubMed 36107981
L-theanine and stress-related symptoms and sleep quality — randomized controlled trial at 200 mg/day. PubMed 31623400
Sleep restriction, leptin, ghrelin and appetite — Spiegel et al. (Ann Intern Med, 2004). PubMed 15583226
5-HTP and serotonin syndrome risk with serotonergic drugs — NIH National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health. nccih.nih.gov
Ashwagandha safety and reports of liver injury — NIH LiverTox. LiverTox: Ashwagandha
Magnesium intake and sleep — NIH Office of Dietary Supplements magnesium fact sheet. ods.od.nih.gov
Zinc upper intake level and copper deficiency — NIH Office of Dietary Supplements zinc fact sheet. ods.od.nih.gov
CBT-I as first-line treatment for chronic insomnia — American College of Physicians clinical guideline. PubMed 27136449
Seller’s published ingredient list, pricing and guarantee wording — accessed 4 September 2026.
Prices and bundle options change often, and the seller’s own page is the only place we can confirm what is actually on offer today.
Check the current Renew price →
Official site · affiliate link — we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. It does not change our verdict.